Faculty Assembly
2015-2016 Faculty Assembly Meetings  
Date: Theme:
September 11, 2015 “Shared Governance, the work of the Assembly”
October 23, 2015 “The Present and Future of UNC Academics”
December 4, 2015 "The Minority College and University Today”
January 15, 2016 "The (New?) State of the University” 
February 15, 2016 “The State of the Faculty” 
April 8, 2016 “The Public Functions of Public Higher Education”

The UNC Faculty Assembly is the elected body of representatives of the faculty of the seventeen constituent institutions of the University of North Carolina.  The Assembly is dedicated to upholding and exercising the principles of academic freedom, shared governance, tenure and the faculty's primary responsibility for the University's curriculum.

Organizational Documents

Charter of the UNC Faculty Assembly
Bylaws of the UNC Faculty Assembly
Handbook for Delegates of the UNC Faculty Assembly

A Brief History of the Faculty Assembly

In 1972, when all sixteen public senior institutions were placed under one Board of Governors, President Friday called for the creation of a Faculty Assembly.  There had been a Faculty Advisory Council within the old six-campus consolidated University of North Carolina, and the new assembly was to be its enlarged successor.

By October 1972, all sixteen constituent institutions had ratified the Assembly Charter.  The first meeting of the delegates was held on December 2, 1972.  John Sanders, then Vice President for Planning, presided as interim chair.

A second meeting was held on January 6, 1973, to begin discussions of a set of bylaws for the Assembly.  Henry C. Cooke, from North Carolina State University, was then elected chair pro tem.

A special [third] meeting was held on January 27, 1973 (presided over by Professor Cooke), for the purpose of debating and proposing revisions to Chapter VI of The Code: Academic Freedom and Tenure.

At its fourth meeting, held on February 23, 1973, the Assembly adopted its Bylaws and elected Professor Cooke to serve as chair until July 1, 1974.

The following faculty members have served as Assembly chairs:

1973-1974 Henry C. Cooke NCSU
1974-1976 Henry C. Ferrell ECU
1976-1977 Vincent M. Foote NCSU
1977-1979 (Jan.)1 Roy Carroll ASU
Feb. - June 1979 Helen M. Caldwell ECSU
1979-1981 Shirley C. Browning UNCA
1981-1984 Alan J. Hauser ASU
1984-1986 James LeRoy Smith ECU
 1986-1987 (May)2 Betty Jo Welch UNCW
1987-1988 Meada Gibb NCA&T
1988-1990 Fred Hinson WCU
1990-1991 Kathleen Kowal UNCW
1991-1993 Ken Wilson ECU
1993-1995 William Kane WCU
1995-1997 Peter Petschauer ASU
1997-1999 Laura Gasaway UNC-CH
1999-2001 Keith Howell UNCG
2001-2003 Richard Veit UNCW
2003-2005 Jeff Passe UNCC
2005-2008 Brenda Killingsworth ECU
2008-2010 Judith Wegner UNC-CH
2010-2012 Sandie Gravett ASU
2012-2014 Catherine Rigsby ECU
2014- Stephen Leonard UNCCH
  1. Roy Carroll's term ended when he was appointed Vice President for Planning at UNC General Administration.
  2. Betty Jo Welch died in office.